My Second Slice

Things I remember from SOL 2023

  1. A healthy balance of excited and anxious for my first go around with the Slice of Life Challenge
  2. Being very confused by WordPress (it really shouldn’t be so hard! I also acknowledge that it probably isn’t that hard, I am just that unfamiliar with this technology…)
  3. The simple goal of posting, commenting and replying every day. Did I revise? Hardly ever, but I let it be enough if I completed the writing and reading requirement.
  4. Being inspired by the variety of posts from fellow slices. Poems, pictures, short entries, long entries, silly entries, somber entries. I was able to create a list of ideas, thanks to the creative writers in this community.
  5. Attending the St. Patrick’s Day Zoom call. We talked all things writing, from slice ideas to favorite posts to favorite writing routines. It was so nice meeting other writers and building community.

5 Things I am looking forward to about SOL 2024

  1. Writing about the small, every day moments in life. Whenever I felt stumped, I simply took in my surroundings. It allowed me to notice the little things in my life that usually passed me by. I am looking forward to practicing that gratitude so intentionally.
  2. Having a more engaging Word Press but also understanding that this is a work in progress, so it does not need to be perfect (hear that, Megan! Let it be enough!)
  3. A goal of writing whenever I feel inspired to do so, even if it means writing multiple times a day. If anything it gives me a pile of drafts to use on the busier days!
  4. Being encouraged by this community to find inspiration every where. Reading other slicers’ posts teaches me writing skills, as well as how to have a healthy approach to life. There is joy all. over. the place .
  5. Getting to know more slicers! Happy SOL 2024 everyone!

9 responses to “My Second Slice”

  1. Fran McCrackin Avatar

    So good to see you back, Megan! I like your 5 things I remember and 5 things i look forward to format. (I especially loved reading your remembrance of our zoom together!) And finally, you remind us all here of the gratitude and j-o-y that seems to emerge from this practice. We can also write about troubles and sadness, and get some comfort from releasing that to a kind community, but I agree with you that there is so much gratitude and joy from this month of reflection and writing!

    Cheers, and I’ll be looking for you!

    Like

  2. Lakshmi Bhat Avatar

    I too like to write about the everyday moments. there is so much to write about them. Hope you have a wonderful month of writing and reading. Regards, Lakshmi

    Like

  3. beckymusician Avatar

    It is hard to find something to write about every day for 30 days! Your post has given me some excellent ideas about having a successful #SOL2024. I had already started a list of ideas for posts – for those days when nothing seems to happen and my mind is a blank! And I agree, WordPress can be confusing.

    Like

  4. Glenda Funk Avatar

    Welcome back! I love those goals, especially number 3. I need to do that drafting more. Currently, I have a list of topics I can’t recall what I’d planned. I switched from Blogger to Word Press a couple years ago and changed my blog’s name. The learning curve is still a challenge. JetPack tricks me often, even though I blog weekly. You’re not alone in that frustration. Have a great month.

    Like

  5. Stacey Shubitz Avatar

    First, welcome!

    Second, I’ve been using WordPress since 2007. I’m not an expert, but feel free to reach out to me if you need anything. I’ll do my best to help.

    I know you signed up for the 3/3 and 3/10 sessions. That’s a great way to dive into the community and get to know other people. “See” you on Sunday.

    Like

  6. sallydonnelly11 Avatar

    So glad you are here!!! And I love a good list and with your slice, I get two!
    I especially like how oyu punctuated this part:
    “There is joy all. over. the place .”

    Like

  7. Denise Krebs Avatar
    Denise Krebs

    Megan, welcome back! It’s so good to see your positive experience last year and your hopes for this month. I love, love this line: ” It allowed me to notice the little things in my life that usually passed me by.” There is some definite truth there. I also say an amen to this: “There is joy all. over. the place.” Here’s to a great month ahead.

    Like

  8. Karyn B Avatar

    I love your reflections. Welcome back! 

    Like

  9. Beth Sanderson Avatar

    So happy to be reading your words! I share your bafflement at Word Press. I have had my blog for years and I spent at least an hour on day 1 of slicing trying to remember how to single space my poem stanzas! Why so hard? Love the new blog site.

    Like

Leave a comment

Megan

Welcome to the musing millennial! I hope you enjoy my early 2000s nostalgia, my unfounded weather predictions, and my thoughts on life as a 30 something old English teacher.

This March I am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge from Two Writing Teachers.

Recent posts

  • My Second Slice

    Things I remember from SOL 2023 5 Things I am looking forward to about SOL 2024


  • 21 Things About Me


  • Ten “Top Threes”

    Ten “Top Threes”

    Inspired by Sally’s list (see it here) I’ve decided to end this year’s SOL Challenge with a list of favorites. It was a fun exercise that brought back a lot of memories! It’s been great slicing with all of you this year 🙂 See you in 2025!


  • What Grandmothers Do

    A poem inspired by Judith Viorst’s poem, What Dads Do Make popcorn Make a nest for movie night Make twin beds into a king bed for a sleepover Make sure the monsters stay in their hiding space Play the matching game. Again. And again Walk swiftly next to the two wheeler bike Hide where they…


  • A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    4:30 – “Thank goodness it’s still early…the parking lot is usually full by 5pm” 4:35 – “Is that rain or sleet?! It feels like its pelting us from the side. We haven’t seen wind like this in awhile” “Well, that’s March in the Outer Banks” 4:40 – “Here’s our homemade corn bread, just to start…


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started