A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

4:30 – “Thank goodness it’s still early…the parking lot is usually full by 5pm”

4:35 – “Is that rain or sleet?! It feels like its pelting us from the side. We haven’t seen wind like this in awhile” “Well, that’s March in the Outer Banks”

4:40 – “Here’s our homemade corn bread, just to start you off while you wait for Immanuel. What can I get you to drink?” “I’ll have champagne…this is a celebratory meal”

4:45 – “Hi y’all, I’m Immanuel, so good to meet you in person. I’ll bring out the first round of samples in just a moment.”

4:52 – “Alright, this is your appetizer sampler. We have the crab cakes, seared tuna tortillas, and the chopped mushroom filo cups. We don’t offer the charcuterie board in the tasting, but that’s the fourth appetizer on your menu. Our charcuterie chef isn’t here right now, and she doesn’t let anyone else put them together!”

4:58 – “Wow…the crab cakes are spectacular. And as a born and raised Maryland-er, that’s high praise”

5:10 – “Can I clear away some of these plates? We will make space for the next round”

5:16 – “And here are the station samples. We have your NC BBQ slider, your taco tortillas with braised beef and pulled chicken, along with the taco toppings, and lastly, your mac and cheese with the bacon and caramelized onion toppings”

5:17 – “I don’t know how I will find room in my stomach, but no way am I missing out on anything!”

5:35 – “Everything is as delicious as we thought it would be. We have a few questions. Can we do the pimento and bacon filo cups as well? Can we add a raw oyster bar? Do you host welcome parties?” “We can do all of that for you!”

5:46 – “We can’t wait to see you all in November!”

4 responses to “A wedding tasting, told through dialogue”

  1. Stacey Shubitz Avatar

    You brought me back in time to my wedding tastings! They were fun. It’s a great way to build anticipation for the day. ☺️

    Like

  2. amyjuengst Avatar

    Delicious! Such an exciting time in life. The description of the food sounds amazing. Are you selecting most of those choices? If not, how could you choose.

    Like

  3. mschiubookawrites Avatar

    Sounds scrumptious! So many choices, so I’m glad you included all the soundbites for the reader to taste. Very excited for you!

    Like

  4. natashadomina Avatar

    It sounds like such a fun evening! The time stamps add another layer of interest to complement the dialogue. It sounds like you’re going to have a delicious wedding dinner!

    Like

Leave a comment

Megan

Welcome to the musing millennial! I hope you enjoy my early 2000s nostalgia, my unfounded weather predictions, and my thoughts on life as a 30 something old English teacher.

This March I am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge from Two Writing Teachers.

Recent posts

  • My Second Slice

    Things I remember from SOL 2023 5 Things I am looking forward to about SOL 2024


  • 21 Things About Me


  • Ten “Top Threes”

    Ten “Top Threes”

    Inspired by Sally’s list (see it here) I’ve decided to end this year’s SOL Challenge with a list of favorites. It was a fun exercise that brought back a lot of memories! It’s been great slicing with all of you this year 🙂 See you in 2025!


  • What Grandmothers Do

    A poem inspired by Judith Viorst’s poem, What Dads Do Make popcorn Make a nest for movie night Make twin beds into a king bed for a sleepover Make sure the monsters stay in their hiding space Play the matching game. Again. And again Walk swiftly next to the two wheeler bike Hide where they…


  • A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    4:30 – “Thank goodness it’s still early…the parking lot is usually full by 5pm” 4:35 – “Is that rain or sleet?! It feels like its pelting us from the side. We haven’t seen wind like this in awhile” “Well, that’s March in the Outer Banks” 4:40 – “Here’s our homemade corn bread, just to start…


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started