Four Years Ago Today

Four Years Ago Today

Written at 4:10p on 3/13/2024

Four years ago today, I was at home on a Friday afternoon. I was at home because there was nowhere else to go.

Four years ago today, I was ready for a nap. The entire week built up to this afternoon when it was announced that our school district would close its doors for four weeks.

Four years ago today, every student had in hand a WWII novel, assigned by my colleague and I. Some copies were from our school’s book room, but many were from the shelves of other teachers (thank you Beth and Amy!), from the school library, from the public library, from my Amazon cart. No wonder I needed a nap.

Four years ago today, a student asked me what would happen to the SOLs, the state standardized tests we take in May. I responded that if we had to worry about the SOLs, we had much more to worry about.

A student recently told me that four years ago, she was in fourth grade. Her fourth grade teacher started every Monday with a journal prompt. As teachers do, this teacher left school that Friday with the journal prompt already written on the board, ready for when students returned four weeks later.

“How did you spend the past four weeks?” was finally erased after one year.

Four years ago today, I had no idea what the next four years would look like. Or even the next four months, the next four weeks, or even the next four days.

5 responses to “Four Years Ago Today”

  1. natashadomina Avatar

    I was just talking about this with teachers at lunch–it hit us that today was the anniversary of our last day of school before everything changed. Your list of all the things you remember about “Four years ago today” is powerful. The one that particularly hit me was the teacher leaving the journal prompt on the board. It brought back memories of messages I’d left on my board, never expecting to be out so long.

    Like

  2. Denise Krebs Avatar
    Denise Krebs

    Megan, wow. I have heard more about March 13 today. Friday, March 13, 2020–when the lockdown started. I have a different day in mind. I was in Bahrain, and we closed a little earlier. February 26, 2020. I remember on the 25th Ayat was helping me get ready for the next day, so she wrote 26 February 2020 on the whiteboard. We never came back to school that year, and the next year, we didn’t need my room because we had so few in-person students at school. I left Ayat’s handwritten date up there for more than a year.

    Like

  3. karpenglish Avatar

    It’s not quite reminiscing, but I have definitely done a lot of thinking about March 13, 2020 today. You’ve reminded me of that weird sense of haunted limbo that came from all the eerie, frozen in time reminders we had in our classrooms when we returned after the “brief pause” that stretched on and on and on. And also of the feelings of anxiety, fear, and confusion when they were still laced with the desperate hope that the progress of the disease could still be stopped, and we just had to hang on through a few difficult weeks.

    Like

  4. […] Thanks to Megan Kroger for the inspiration today. Here’s her post that reminded me of my lunchtime conversation: https://musingmillennial93.wordpress.com/2024/03/13/four-years-ago-today/ […]

    Like

  5. sallydonnelly11 Avatar

    Aden’s visit has distracted me from thinking about March 13th…was it really four years ago?? So weird that school closed for what we thought was weeks and ended up being so much longer. Your slice captured this 2020 date so well.

    Like

Leave a comment

Megan

Welcome to the musing millennial! I hope you enjoy my early 2000s nostalgia, my unfounded weather predictions, and my thoughts on life as a 30 something old English teacher.

This March I am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge from Two Writing Teachers.

Recent posts

  • My Second Slice

    Things I remember from SOL 2023 5 Things I am looking forward to about SOL 2024


  • 21 Things About Me


  • Ten “Top Threes”

    Ten “Top Threes”

    Inspired by Sally’s list (see it here) I’ve decided to end this year’s SOL Challenge with a list of favorites. It was a fun exercise that brought back a lot of memories! It’s been great slicing with all of you this year 🙂 See you in 2025!


  • What Grandmothers Do

    A poem inspired by Judith Viorst’s poem, What Dads Do Make popcorn Make a nest for movie night Make twin beds into a king bed for a sleepover Make sure the monsters stay in their hiding space Play the matching game. Again. And again Walk swiftly next to the two wheeler bike Hide where they…


  • A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    4:30 – “Thank goodness it’s still early…the parking lot is usually full by 5pm” 4:35 – “Is that rain or sleet?! It feels like its pelting us from the side. We haven’t seen wind like this in awhile” “Well, that’s March in the Outer Banks” 4:40 – “Here’s our homemade corn bread, just to start…


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started