A dramatic start for a Saturday slice, but the rainy weather has put me in my best Bronte mood.

What has passed has been quality time with loved ones and with myself. I started the day on the couch with my parents, watching promotional videos for bands we are considering for our wedding. From there, I waved goodbye to them from the cover of the porch as they headed south to their home in North Carolina. My mom is ready to recover from surgery with the comfort of her own couch.

I then headed to the gym for some me time. Despite working out alone, I feel so inspired by the people I see there. Some are just starting out and some have been lifting weights for much of their life. It is a reminder that it is never too late to start again, and a reminder that we are stronger than we think.

After a quick stop at the store, I rushed home to tidy up before meeting a good friend for lunch. She is moving soon, so we are squeezing in many café visits as we can.

I now sit on my couch once again, enjoying the relaxing tip tap of the rain on the windows, my fingers on the key board.

What is to come is my best friend and her husband, here to stay the night. Her and I are going to something of a reunion dinner with a group of girls we cheered with a few years ago. We are then going to cheer on one of the girls at a local dance recital. I am kicking myself for not making a sign.

What is to come is the gratitude of sleeping in tomorrow after such a busy day, as well as the gratitude of a day filled with loved ones and memories made.

One response to “What has passed and what is to come”

  1. Denise Krebs Avatar
    Denise Krebs

    Megan, it sounds like you have had some lovely friend and family time. Yes, here’s to building memories and especially gratitude. I enjoyed reading your post. (Your post from yesterday inspired mine for the 10th.)

    Like

Leave a comment

Megan

Welcome to the musing millennial! I hope you enjoy my early 2000s nostalgia, my unfounded weather predictions, and my thoughts on life as a 30 something old English teacher.

This March I am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge from Two Writing Teachers.

Recent posts

  • My Second Slice

    Things I remember from SOL 2023 5 Things I am looking forward to about SOL 2024


  • 21 Things About Me


  • Ten “Top Threes”

    Ten “Top Threes”

    Inspired by Sally’s list (see it here) I’ve decided to end this year’s SOL Challenge with a list of favorites. It was a fun exercise that brought back a lot of memories! It’s been great slicing with all of you this year 🙂 See you in 2025!


  • What Grandmothers Do

    A poem inspired by Judith Viorst’s poem, What Dads Do Make popcorn Make a nest for movie night Make twin beds into a king bed for a sleepover Make sure the monsters stay in their hiding space Play the matching game. Again. And again Walk swiftly next to the two wheeler bike Hide where they…


  • A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    4:30 – “Thank goodness it’s still early…the parking lot is usually full by 5pm” 4:35 – “Is that rain or sleet?! It feels like its pelting us from the side. We haven’t seen wind like this in awhile” “Well, that’s March in the Outer Banks” 4:40 – “Here’s our homemade corn bread, just to start…


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started