Dogs, dogs, dogs!!

Dogs, dogs, dogs!!

My grade level students were fortunate enough to have some special visitors today! One of the teachers on our team has raised four dogs with Guided Eyes, a nonprofit that trains guide dogs. A group of raisers, and their puppies, came for a once in a lifetime assembly. Students ooo-ed and ahhh-ed over the adorable labs and one German Shepard. A handful of kids even got to go to the stage to try out a few tricks!

4 responses to “Dogs, dogs, dogs!!”

  1. Fran McCrackin Avatar

    Oooh, I am envious- wish I was there! I imagine that was an assembly the students will remember, and who knows how it might change lives…

    Like

  2. kimhaynesjohnson Avatar

    What a treat! That is a once in a lifetime experience~

    Like

  3. amyjuengst Avatar

    Lucky 7th graders. I wish we could have dogs in our classroom, too. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Celia Fisher Avatar

    They must have been so excited. I don’t think anything beats a dog visit at a school for students.

    Like

Leave a comment

Megan

Welcome to the musing millennial! I hope you enjoy my early 2000s nostalgia, my unfounded weather predictions, and my thoughts on life as a 30 something old English teacher.

This March I am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge from Two Writing Teachers.

Recent posts

  • My Second Slice

    Things I remember from SOL 2023 5 Things I am looking forward to about SOL 2024


  • 21 Things About Me


  • Ten “Top Threes”

    Ten “Top Threes”

    Inspired by Sally’s list (see it here) I’ve decided to end this year’s SOL Challenge with a list of favorites. It was a fun exercise that brought back a lot of memories! It’s been great slicing with all of you this year 🙂 See you in 2025!


  • What Grandmothers Do

    A poem inspired by Judith Viorst’s poem, What Dads Do Make popcorn Make a nest for movie night Make twin beds into a king bed for a sleepover Make sure the monsters stay in their hiding space Play the matching game. Again. And again Walk swiftly next to the two wheeler bike Hide where they…


  • A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    4:30 – “Thank goodness it’s still early…the parking lot is usually full by 5pm” 4:35 – “Is that rain or sleet?! It feels like its pelting us from the side. We haven’t seen wind like this in awhile” “Well, that’s March in the Outer Banks” 4:40 – “Here’s our homemade corn bread, just to start…


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started