Crockpot Queen

Since moving into our new home, I’ve noticed a shift in my identity. A change that has come on slowly but that can no longer be ignored. I’ve become someone new. I’ve become…the crockpot queen. And is that so wrong?

Now, I’ve always loved a good crockpot meal. When I lived with roommates, I would make something in the crockpot on Sunday night for my weekday lunches. I never followed a recipe. I picked what looked good at the grocery store and dumped it into the wide bowl of the crockpot. It was easy. Convenient. Affordable. Tasty enough.

My weekday lunches have evolved, and my weeknight dinners have to be quick, leaving no time for an 8 hour cook on low. So when we moved into our new place, I put the formally beloved kitchen appliance in the cabinet above the stove. High up where I can’t reach. I made sure to fit the cover on, lest it collect dust.

All that being said, we’ve hosted more family and more friends in the past few weeks than we ever achieved in the first months of living in our old apartment. Is it the space we now have? The thrill of a new home we want to show off? Whatever it is, I’ve found myself reaching (literally) for my crockpot. Maturing to real recipes, I follow a formula. Pinterest search. Grocery list. Grocery run. Combine ingredients. Set timer. Done. It is so simple. It is so quick. It. Is. So. Delicious.

I’ve made Tuscan Tortellini Pasta. I’ve made Mediterranean Chicken. And last night, I made a chicken potato roast. With chicken, most recipes only take three hours. But oh, the smell in the kitchen. The steam that comes when I lift the lid. The heat that threatens to burn my tongue if I don’t have patience when taking the first bite. Too much? Absolutely not. Just right.

My latest recipe. Highly recommend crockpot liners for easy clean up!

One response to “Crockpot Queen”

  1. mschiubookawrites Avatar

    What a scrumptious slice! I don’t have a crockpot (small kitchen), but I am intrigued. The steam and aroma you describe are mouthwatering. This is so true- “The heat that threatens to burn my tongue if I don’t have patience when taking the first bite.”

    Like

Leave a comment

Megan

Welcome to the musing millennial! I hope you enjoy my early 2000s nostalgia, my unfounded weather predictions, and my thoughts on life as a 30 something old English teacher.

This March I am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge from Two Writing Teachers.

Recent posts

  • My Second Slice

    Things I remember from SOL 2023 5 Things I am looking forward to about SOL 2024


  • 21 Things About Me


  • Ten “Top Threes”

    Ten “Top Threes”

    Inspired by Sally’s list (see it here) I’ve decided to end this year’s SOL Challenge with a list of favorites. It was a fun exercise that brought back a lot of memories! It’s been great slicing with all of you this year 🙂 See you in 2025!


  • What Grandmothers Do

    A poem inspired by Judith Viorst’s poem, What Dads Do Make popcorn Make a nest for movie night Make twin beds into a king bed for a sleepover Make sure the monsters stay in their hiding space Play the matching game. Again. And again Walk swiftly next to the two wheeler bike Hide where they…


  • A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    4:30 – “Thank goodness it’s still early…the parking lot is usually full by 5pm” 4:35 – “Is that rain or sleet?! It feels like its pelting us from the side. We haven’t seen wind like this in awhile” “Well, that’s March in the Outer Banks” 4:40 – “Here’s our homemade corn bread, just to start…


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started