(happy) five senses

(happy) five senses

Happiness looks like a balloon expanding from the heart, filling so much space in the body that it breaks the barrier and extends to those close by.

Happiness tastes like the first bite of pizza, a reward for achieving the impossible…waiting for it to cool down.

Happiness sounds like the chorus of squeals at the end of the happy birthday song, a child’s delight in knowing their slice will soon be served.

Happiness smells like rain evaporating from backyard grass, now warm from the sun rays that begin to poke through the dispersing clouds.

Happiness feels like a child’s birthday. Innocent and untouched by storm clouds that threaten to ruin the day.

2 responses to “(happy) five senses”

  1. mschiubookawrites Avatar

    Really enjoyed how you took happiness through the five senses. I liked the taste and sound the best!

    Like

  2. Fran McCrackin Avatar

    I always need reminders to use more of my senses in my writing, and your piece is an inspiration. But it holds more than I first realized- it tells a whole story through your sensory observations! I’m glad the rain didnt interfere with your little loved one’s party.

    Like

Leave a comment

Megan

Welcome to the musing millennial! I hope you enjoy my early 2000s nostalgia, my unfounded weather predictions, and my thoughts on life as a 30 something old English teacher.

This March I am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge from Two Writing Teachers.

Recent posts

  • My Second Slice

    Things I remember from SOL 2023 5 Things I am looking forward to about SOL 2024


  • 21 Things About Me


  • Ten “Top Threes”

    Ten “Top Threes”

    Inspired by Sally’s list (see it here) I’ve decided to end this year’s SOL Challenge with a list of favorites. It was a fun exercise that brought back a lot of memories! It’s been great slicing with all of you this year 🙂 See you in 2025!


  • What Grandmothers Do

    A poem inspired by Judith Viorst’s poem, What Dads Do Make popcorn Make a nest for movie night Make twin beds into a king bed for a sleepover Make sure the monsters stay in their hiding space Play the matching game. Again. And again Walk swiftly next to the two wheeler bike Hide where they…


  • A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    4:30 – “Thank goodness it’s still early…the parking lot is usually full by 5pm” 4:35 – “Is that rain or sleet?! It feels like its pelting us from the side. We haven’t seen wind like this in awhile” “Well, that’s March in the Outer Banks” 4:40 – “Here’s our homemade corn bread, just to start…


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started