Have you ever gone golfing? If not, I highly recommend it. There is nothing quite like starting your day on the course, plopping down in the cushy seat of the cart, knowing you have a few hours of uninterrupted peace.

There is something about the smell of the course, too. The green grass mixed with the flora and fauna of the local terrain. And the sounds you hear? Barely anything except for the thunk or the tap of the golf ball. And the wildlife of course. Bird calls are common, but if you’re lucky, you will also hear the teeters and the skerts of unknown animals.

Just make sure you’ve checked the weather before you head out. You might want to bring a puffy coat, or even better, a warm blanket. On a hot day, the breeze that accompanies the quick drive from hole to hole is refreshing. If there is even a slight chill in the air though…those breezes turn to gusts and you might as well be on a mountain. In those cases, gloves don’t hurt!

A warm beverage helps with the cold weather, if that is indeed on the forecast for the day. A hot coffee is my personal favorite. Depending on the book I bring, the flavor of the coffee only transports me to the setting more successfully. Which brings me to my last piece of advice. Choose your book wisely! Make sure you aren’t already close to the end. With the amount of time you will spend simply sitting outside, you are sure to get through a number of pages.

I should mention…I don’t ask if you have played golf…I personally have never played golf. I just accompany my fiancé when he wants to play a round while on vacation. And it is the best unbothered reading time I’ve been able to find.

One response to “Have you ever gone golfing?”

  1. Patricia J Holloway Avatar

    I had such a good laugh while reading this. I was thinking how much I enjoyed trying to get a great shot after I did once! Then I thought wait! No golfing… fun post!

    Like

Leave a comment

Megan

Welcome to the musing millennial! I hope you enjoy my early 2000s nostalgia, my unfounded weather predictions, and my thoughts on life as a 30 something old English teacher.

This March I am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge from Two Writing Teachers.

Recent posts

  • My Second Slice

    Things I remember from SOL 2023 5 Things I am looking forward to about SOL 2024


  • 21 Things About Me


  • Ten “Top Threes”

    Ten “Top Threes”

    Inspired by Sally’s list (see it here) I’ve decided to end this year’s SOL Challenge with a list of favorites. It was a fun exercise that brought back a lot of memories! It’s been great slicing with all of you this year 🙂 See you in 2025!


  • What Grandmothers Do

    A poem inspired by Judith Viorst’s poem, What Dads Do Make popcorn Make a nest for movie night Make twin beds into a king bed for a sleepover Make sure the monsters stay in their hiding space Play the matching game. Again. And again Walk swiftly next to the two wheeler bike Hide where they…


  • A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    4:30 – “Thank goodness it’s still early…the parking lot is usually full by 5pm” 4:35 – “Is that rain or sleet?! It feels like its pelting us from the side. We haven’t seen wind like this in awhile” “Well, that’s March in the Outer Banks” 4:40 – “Here’s our homemade corn bread, just to start…


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started