1. Small music venues. At a strip mall in Vienna, VA, I attended a concert for The Hot Club of Cowtown, a Western swing trio from Texas. You won’t find the genre on my “Most Recently Played” Spotify playlist, but I was in awe of their talent, their energy, and their crowd engagement. In such an intimate environment, they asked questions like “How are you doing out there?” and “What songs haven’t we played yet that you want to hear?” Ahhh, the perks of a small venue.
  2. My future family. My future aunt and uncle treated my fiancé, my future father in law, and my future brother in law to the concert, as they are big fans of the group. They are from South Carolina, but when they saw a show was scheduled for Northern Virginia, they decided the concert would be a great excuse to visit. Because we had a table by the stage, we were able to catch up for a bit before the show began.
  3. Hot honey on pizza. Seriously, if you haven’t tried it, change your dinner plans. My spice tolerance is embarrassingly low (can’t even eat buffalo wings), but this hot isn’t spicy hot. It gives a kick, but nothing that burns the mouth. Instead, its a sweetness, its a texture. It was the last pizza we ordered for the table and was hands down a favorite for everyone.

2 responses to “3 things I love, inspired by last night”

  1. Natalie Dunne Avatar

    Hot honey on pizza! Very interesting.

    Like

  2. sallydonnelly11 Avatar

    So fun that extended family arrives in town to enjoy music together! This slice shows me what a great married life you are going to have.

    Like

Leave a comment

Megan

Welcome to the musing millennial! I hope you enjoy my early 2000s nostalgia, my unfounded weather predictions, and my thoughts on life as a 30 something old English teacher.

This March I am participating in the Slice of Life Challenge from Two Writing Teachers.

Recent posts

  • My Second Slice

    Things I remember from SOL 2023 5 Things I am looking forward to about SOL 2024


  • 21 Things About Me


  • Ten “Top Threes”

    Ten “Top Threes”

    Inspired by Sally’s list (see it here) I’ve decided to end this year’s SOL Challenge with a list of favorites. It was a fun exercise that brought back a lot of memories! It’s been great slicing with all of you this year 🙂 See you in 2025!


  • What Grandmothers Do

    A poem inspired by Judith Viorst’s poem, What Dads Do Make popcorn Make a nest for movie night Make twin beds into a king bed for a sleepover Make sure the monsters stay in their hiding space Play the matching game. Again. And again Walk swiftly next to the two wheeler bike Hide where they…


  • A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    A wedding tasting, told through dialogue

    4:30 – “Thank goodness it’s still early…the parking lot is usually full by 5pm” 4:35 – “Is that rain or sleet?! It feels like its pelting us from the side. We haven’t seen wind like this in awhile” “Well, that’s March in the Outer Banks” 4:40 – “Here’s our homemade corn bread, just to start…


Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started